Weekend in Galway

Posted: September 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

We got up threw on clothes and stumbled to the bus stop where I promptly fells asleep for the 3 hour ride. Yay!

When we got to Galway I chugged a Redbull before we jumped on our tour bus so I could manage to stay awake (Buses and trains instantly put me to sleep. I have no idea why but i’m out within moments of starting to move.)

I loved the tour guide though I never got his name right it sounded like Iwan but that isn’t it. Anyway we drove around all day and saw some really cool stuff. Not just the super touristy stuff but some out of the way stuff like and Earthen Ring and a rock formation that looked like a Leprachaun. Of course the highlight was the cliffs of Moher (So lovely I’m Immdietly inserting a 360 view of the cliffs)

They were breathtaking and so freaking green and lush everywhere. Seriously everyone should come here and see this. Galway is just gorgeous the towns and villages all around are gorgeous.

We also drove all around Galway Bay saw some Hookers (A type of boat…) saw about 500,000 Million Limestoen Rock Walls from the Burren and and amazing Beach that has up to 40 foot waves.

Of course we also saw a castle or 2 >8)

We got back into town about 5:30 and checked into the Hostel before dropping our stuff off and heading out! We met up with a Friend of Oana’s S and he showed us around taking us to a lovely Pub for dinner and a couple pints before showing us the other side of Galway the locals part.

We walked out of the Latin Quarter and into a more lived in looking side of town. We went to this tiny little pub (With tiny tiny tables and chairs I swear they were made for hobbits) Where this big group of people were sitting around playing music just impromptu of o each other and talking and drinking. (I’m including a small clip you can hear it but can’t see anything.

We hung out there for a bit before heading back to the hostel because I felt like crap.

Health Update: I woke up with the swallowling broken glass sensation this morning and my cough is worse. I am officially sick… If I’m not better by Monday it’s doctor time!

The next morning we got up got dressed and checked ut by 10:30 just in time to meet S for breakfast. We went to a Tex Mex place for a lovely Irish Breakfast. (All soft foods for me since my throat still killed an swallowing anything to hot or to cold made my ear feel like it was going to explode) after spending some time on the free wireless it was time to see more of Galway!

We walked around the shopping district stopping to get some tea and other things before deciding to head over to toward the beach. There was an iron man competition so as we walked along the path next to the beach we walked along al these runner. They looked miserable. It started to rain a bit so S took us to a pub where more beer drinking commenced! I know I said I’d watch the beer (Gluten) But you can’t come to Ireland and not try the local brews. In Galway that was Galway Hooker and it was very Hoppy and I stuck to Guinness after that (by stuck to I mean 1 that is all I could swallow… S doubted my Americaness until it was time to go and I chugged the last half of my beer)

After that it was back to the Bus Station and Back to Dublin…. I loved Galway and I would put it on the list of things people must see. It’s so gorgeous and green there and the town was just awesome and really reasonably priced.

Here are a few pics. Enjoy!

20110908-011210.jpg

20110908-013934.jpg

20110908-014003.jpg

Leave a comment